Menu Close

Curriculum For Excellence

Curriculum for Excellence is about the best learning and teaching, how progress is assessed, and new qualifications. It has already been implemented in schools and nurseries across Primary Schools across the Argyll and Bute. Below is some information provided by the Scottish Government’s ParentZone initiative.

About Curriculum for Excellence (CFE)

What is the curriculum?

Curriculum for Excellence is Scotland’s curriculum for children and young people aged 3-18.
It’s an approach designed to provide young people with the knowledge, skills and attributes they need for learning, life and work in the 21st century.

It aims to enable every child or young person to be a:

  • Successful learner
  • Confident individual
  • Responsible citizen
  • Effective contributor.

Stages and levels

The curriculum is broken into two broad stages:

  • A broad general education, providing a rounded education from the early years until the end of S3
  • A senior phase, which will include studying for qualifications (from S4-S6).

The broad general education is divided into five curriculum levels (Early, First, Second, Third and Fourth) across eight curriculum areas.

Parent Guides to the Curriculum